How to Delete Google Account
Google is now an important part of our daily life. Not just Google search, but there are several other services that we use daily. These services include Gmail, Maps, Android phone, Translate, Photos, Meet, Contacts, and more. All these services require a Google account for data personalization. That’s the reason most people have a Google account even if they are not using Gmail for their emails. What if you no longer want to have a Google account? Like other services, Google also allows you to delete Google account if you want. In this article, I will tell you how you can delete a Google account.
Before you delete your Google account, you should know that deleting your Google account means you will lose all the data stores in different services linked to your Google account. That means you will end up losing your emails, files, calendars, and photos. You will never get back access to other Google services where you sign in with that Google account. Deleting a Google account means you will also lose access to subscriptions and content you bought on Google Play or YouTube linked to the Google account.
If you seriously want to delete your Google account, Google recommends you download data from different Google services. You can use the Google Takeout service to export a copy of the content in your Google Account. When you open this link, the page will show you all the services you used. You can select the services whose data you want.
Delete Google Account
After you have taken the backup of your important data from the Google account, you can proceed to delete the Google account. Follow these steps to delete your Google account.
Scroll to “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data.” Click Delete a service or your account.
Now, Click Delete your account.
It will ask you to verify the Google account password and then it will delete your Google account.
As I already said, you shouldn’t forget to download a copy of your Google account data before deleting your Google account. Once you have deleted your Google account, you cannot access any of the Google services that you used with the same Google account.
I don’t recommend deleting the entire Google account. If you want to stop using any specific Google service, you can remove that service from your Google account. See the last step, Google lets you delete Google services if you do not want to delete your Google account. For example, if you just want to delete your Gmail account. You can do that. That’s a better option. It is also worth noting that Google does not allow merging two separate Google Accounts. If you have multiple Google accounts and want to just keep one, you can transfer your data from one account to another and then delete another account.
Now you know how to delete Google account. We have several similar guides. Here are some links.