How to delete Facebook account permanently

Facebook
Facebook

Advertisement

Facebook is a popular social media platform but now it remains in controversies for spying too much on users. The company collects the personal data of users to share with advertisers. It also came into several privacy-related controversies. So, privacy could be a reason why someone wants to delete a Facebook account. If you are also one of those who no longer want to use Facebook, I have a detailed guide for you. In this article, I will show you how to delete Facebook account permanently.

Facebook doesn’t want you to delete the account. This is the reason it has not added a clear link to Delete the Facebook account in the Settings. You will have to fig a lot.

Before you permanently delete your Facebook account, you should know a few things. If you delete your Facebook permanently, you won’t get your account. Your profile data, photos, videos, and posts will be permanently deleted. Facebook Messenger will also stop working. If you have signup for different services using Facebook, you won’t be able to log into those apps again. Deleting your Facebook account will also delete your Oculus information. Your pages will also be deleted if you are the only admin of pages.

If you just want a break from Facebook, you can just temporarily deactivate your account. If you deactivate your account, Facebook will stop showing your profile. All your Facebook data will still be there but hidden. You can keep using Facebook Messenger and can still using Facebook Login for your other apps. Pages you control will be deactivated.

Delete Facebook account permanently

To permanently delete your account, clock your down arrow icon at the top right of Facebook and select Settings & Privacy. Then, click Settings and click Your Facebook Information in the left column. Here, Click Privacy, then click Your Facebook Information. Now you see Deactivation and Deletion.

Delete Facebook account

Click View and it will show you the option to either Deactivate or Delete your account.

Alternatively, you can directly reach to Account deletion page.  Click on this link: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account and it will open the page to Permanently Delete Account.

Delete Facebook account permanently

Facebook will recommend you to just deactivate your account, so you get your account back if you ever think of coming back to Facebook. If you have decided to permanently delete the account, you can click Delete Account button. I also recommend you download your information from Facebook before you delete your Facebook account permanently.

If you are sure you want to permanently delete your Facebook account, click Delete Account button and it will ask you to confirm your password.

Then your account will be added to the deletion list. Facebook doesn’t instantly delete your account. You still have 30 days to get your account back. If you want to cancel your account deletion, you just need to login back to your Facebook account within 30 days of deleting your account. Then click Cancel Deletion when asked to get your account back.

Facebook also says that it may take up to 90 days to complete the deletion process. It is because the company has to delete your information from different copies of backup storage and CDN servers.

Wrap Up

Now you know how to permanently delete your account. You also know that the company still gives you 30 days to get your account back and also takes up to 90 days to delete all your data.  If you seriously want to delete your Facebook account permanently, you will have to control your urge to check your Facebook timeline for the next 30 days.

I have also written similar guides to delete different web and apps accounts.

Advertisement