Twitter will remove inactive accounts and free up usernames next month
Twitter has confirmed that it will be removing the inactive account from its platform to free up usernames. The company will also send emails to owners of inactive accounts with a warning. The warning will suggest people sign in by December 11th or the account will be deleted to free up usernames for grabs again.
Any account that has not been signed in for more than 6 months will receive the email alert. But, we are not sure when these usernames will be available for other people to book.
Here is what Twitter’s inactive account policy says, “We encourage people to actively log in and use Twitter when they register an account. To keep your account active, be sure to log in and Tweet at least every 6 months. Accounts may be permanently removed due to prolonged inactivity.“
If you have set up a bot on an account and not actively using that, the account is safe if the bot is actively tweeting. The only way to keep the username is just log in once. So, don’t a username, that looks long-dormant based on activity, be available. The original owner can still hold on to it.
Twitter also claims that this cleaning will it in becoming a more reliable social network. It is already the primary source of news for a lot of people.